Connect with us


TALLY: Where do Senators stand on Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh?

Published on

U.S. Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh before the U.S. Senate on September 6, 2018

UPDATE: Kavanaugh is likely to be confirmed after Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Joe Manchin (D-West Virginia) announced they will vote for him. Collins said Kavanaugh is qualified for the Supreme Court and argued that she is unable to abandon legal principles about due process, including the presumption of innocence and fairness.

A vote is expected on Saturday on the nomination of Brett Kavanaugh to be an Associate Justice on the U.S. Supreme Court. The list below shows senators who have expressed their support or opposition after they were able to read the FBI report. Those who opposed Kavanaugh for reasons that are unrelated to sexual assault allegations are also included.

The U.S. Senate consists of 100 members: 51 Republicans, 47 Democrats, and 2 independents who caucus with the Democratic Party. Kavanaugh needs a simple majority (51 votes) to be confirmed, which means that, unless a Democrat steps in to support him, he can’t afford to lose more than 1 Republican. If Kavanaugh loses the support of a Republican, Vice President Mike Pence would cast the tie-breaking vote.

Senators to watch: Jeff Flake (R-Arizona), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Jon Kyl (R-Arizona), Ben Sasse (R-Nebraska), Joe Manchin (D-West Virginia), and Heidi Heitkamp (D-North Dakota). They are the ones who are most likely to make or break Kavanaugh’s nomination.

Tally as of 6:16 p.m. ET:

YES: 46 (+5 who lean ‘yes’) = 51
NO: 45 (+4 who lean ‘no’) = 49

This page will be updated throughout the day. Click on the name of a senator for more details.


1. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa)
2. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah)
3. Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota)
4. Bob Corker (R-Tennessee)
5. Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky)
6. Mike Lee (R-Utah)
7. Todd Young (R-Indiana)
8. John Cornyn (R-Texas)
(Source: statement on Senate floor)
9. Tim Scott (R-South Carolina)
10. John Thune (R-South Dakota)
11. Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska)
12. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa)
13. David Perdue (R-Georgia)
14. John Boozman (R-Arkansas)
15. Jon Kyl (R-Arizona)
(Source: statement on Senate floor)
16. Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina)
17. Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia)
18. Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma)
19. Pat Roberts (R-Kansas)
20. Steve Daines (R-Montana)
21. James Lankford (R-Oklahoma)
(Source: statement on Senate floor)
22. Rob Portman (R-Ohio)
(Source: statement on Senate floor)
23. Jerry Moran (R-Kansas)
24. Cory Gardner (R-Colorado)
25. John Kennedy (R-Louisiana)
(Source: Interview on MSNBC)
26. Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina)
27. Ben Sasse (R-Nebraska)
28. Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin)
29. Johnny Isakson (R-Georgia)
30. John Hoeven (R-North Dakota)
31. Richard Burr (R-North Carolina)
32. Lamar Alexander (R-Tennessee)
33. Mike Enzi (R-Wyoming)
34. Jeff Flake (R-Arizona)
35. Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi)
36. Marco Rubio (R-Florida)
(Source: Statement on Senate floor)
37. Pat Toomey (R-Pennsylvania)
38. Roy Blunt (R-Missouri)
(Source: Statement on Senate floor)
39. Rand Paul (R-Kentucky)
40. Ted Cruz (R-Texas)
41. Dean Heller (R-Nevada)
42. Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas)
43. Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana)
44. Susan Collins (R-Maine)
(Source: Statement on Senate floor)
45. Joe Manchin (D-West Virginia)
46. Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi)

Leaning YES:
(Senators who support Kavanaugh but have not re-confirmed their intention to vote ‘Yes’)

1. Richard Shelby (R-Alabama)
2. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
3. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho)
4. Jim Risch (R-Idaho)
5. John Barrasso (R-Wyoming)


1. Chuck Schumer (D-New York)
2. Kamala Harris (D-California)
3. Richard Blumenthal (D-Connecticut)
4. Bob Casey Jr. (D-Pennsylvania)
5. Patty Murray (D-Washington)
6. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin)
7. Tammy Duckworth (D-Illinois)
8. Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii)
9. Jeanne Shaheen (D-New Hampshire)
10. Mark Warner (D-Virginia)
11. Claire McCaskill (D-Missouri)
12. Bernie Sanders (I-Vermont)
13. Angus King (I-Maine)
14. Cory Booker (D-New Jersey)
15. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-New York)
16. Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii)
17. Chris Van Hollen (D-Maryland)
18. Bob Menendez (D-New Jersey)
19. Michael Bennet (D-Colorado)
20. Tom Udall (D-New Mexico)
21. Chris Coons (D-Delaware)
22. Debbie Stabenow (D-Michigan)
23. Martin Heinrich (D-New Mexico)
24. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-Rhode Island)
25. Patrick Leahy (D-Vermont)
26. Ed Markey (D-Massachusetts)
27. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
28. Maria Cantwell (D-Washington)
29. Maggie Hassan (D-New Hampshire)
30. Gary Peters (D-Michigan)
31. Jeff Merkley (D-Oregon)
32. Tim Kaine (D-Virginia)
33. Chris Murphy (D-Connecticut)
34. Elizabeth Warren (D-Massachusetts)
35. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nevada)
36. Ben Cardin (D-Maryland)
37. Heidi Heitkamp (D-North Dakota)
38. Tina Smith (D-Minnesota)
39. Ron Wyden (D-Oregon)
40. Bill Nelson (D-Florida)
(Source: Spokesperson)
41. Dianne Feinstein (D-California)
(Source: Statement on Senate floor)
42. Dick Durbin (D-Illinois)
43. Jack Reed (D-Rhode Island)
44. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
45. Tom Carper (D-Delaware)

Leaning NO:
(Senators who oppose Kavanaugh but have not re-confirmed their intention to vote ‘No’)

1. Jon Tester (D-Montana)
2. Joe Donnelly (D-Indiana)
3. Doug Jones (D-Alabama)
4. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minnesota)

Most Viewed