Connect with us


WATCH LIVE: New Year celebrations around the world

Published on

UPDATE: This live event has ended. Happy New Year!

Watch it again

Click here to watch replays from firework shows in London, Sydney, Hong Kong, Dubai, and more.

Schedule of major events

  • 5 a.m. ET: Samoa and parts of Kiribati are the first places in the world to welcome the new year. (No live coverage)
  • 6 a.m. ET: Auckland, New Zealand.
  • 8 a.m. ET: Sydney welcomes the new year with one of the largest firework displays in the world.
  • 10 a.m. ET: Tokyo, Seoul, and Pyongyang welcome the new year.
  • 11 a.m. ET: Hong Kong, where a massive firework display is taking place. It is one of the biggest in the world and lasts about 10 minutes.
  • 12 p.m. ET: Bangkok.
  • 3 p.m. ET: Dubai. A firework display will take place at the Burj Khalifa, the world’s tallest building.
  • 4 p.m. ET: Moscow.
  • 6 p.m. ET: Berlin.
  • 7 p.m. ET: London.
  • 9 p.m. ET: Rio de Janeiro.
  • 12 a.m. ET: New York City.
  • 7 a.m. ET: Baker Island and Howland Island are the last places to enter the new year. Both are uninhabited.

Other notable events

  • New Year’s speech by North Korean leader Kim Jong Un.
  • New Year’s Address by Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Most Viewed